you're reading...
Inspiration, Writing

Finding a Muse

A days ago the lovely blogess behind Hazy Shades of Me wrote about whether we pay attention to our muse That post got me thinking about my own muse, and if I had one at all.

They (whoever they are) say that you “you should always write what you know”. That is the best place to start if you are looking for one; a place to start, that is. What I know is children and children’s literature. From being a stay at home for the past year, and more recently, as a K3 teacher. Yes, I have gone back to work, circumstances have changed so that it was no longer really feasible for me to stay home. The good news is that I love my job. It is so much fun spending four hours a day with 9 crazy 3yr olds. They are all so adorable, and rambunctious!

Story time is a ritual that I repeat two, sometimes 3 or 4, times a day. It’s important to me to expose Little Bear, and my new kids, to as much literature as possible, hopefully giving them a love of books at a young age. I am constantly surrounded by young, fresh minds, and they give me so much inspiration. Children approach the world with such a different attitude than adults. They’re fearless, and their pure enjoyment of the simplest things makes you examine the way that you approach things. I find myself, as I’m writing, thinking of all the little ones in my life and how they would handle situations. Several of the characters in my book are named after toys that the kids love.

The children are my muse. I want to write for them, and for their enjoyment. My great hope with this book is that, one day, Little Bear will dearly love its story as I did (and still do) my favorite childhood books.

Who, or what, do you find inspiration in? What’s your motivation for writing?

 

About Bex Hagan

Born and raised in Charleston, SC. After college, at Ole Miss, Becky spent time living in places like Washington, D.C. and Amsterdam. She loves photography, cooking, and travel. Becky is mom to her one year old son, "Little Bear", and married to her favorite travel buddy. They also have a big scary pit bull, Rooney, who is afraid of trash bags and toy trains. She is an aspiring author, amateur photographer, and stay home mom.

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: 42 Words | Filling Blank Pages - May 25, 2013

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

Tweets

  • This season of AHS has really surpassed expectations of making me uncomfortable af #cult 5 days ago

Goodreads

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 766 other followers

