you're reading...
Editing, Writing

Ready For Inspection?

Happy Mother’s Day! This is my second Mother’s Day as a Mom myself, and I can honestly say that this one has to go better than the first. Little Bear was only a month old, and very colicky, and very hungry; let’s just say that we both spent the whole day crying (Damn you, hormones!). So it can only go up from there.

My own Mother is a very special woman (as I’m sure most would say about their own mothers), she is my best friend and number one confidante (after Hubby, of course). I’ve put her through hell and back (the teenage years) and we’ve come out of it all the more stronger in our relationship. She would do anything for me, and I would do the same for her.

She’s a very smart woman, and the one who has encouraged my writing from the youngest of ages. Even when I was 6 years old, writing fairy tales to tell my stuffed animals, she would always say “One day, you’re going to be a writer.” In high school and college she helped me write papers, always happy to proof read and point out any grammatical errors. She is the reason I’m such a grammar fanatic now. She spent years of her working life reading over papers of medical students, in her role as assistant to the Dean of Students; so she’s very well qualified.

When she offers to look over something I’ve written I’m usually very happy to know what she thinks, but when I told her about my novel and she offered to proof read what I’ve got done, I was hesitant.

I think I can officially say that I am “in the middle” of writing this novel. I am 12 chapters, 61 pages, and 31,397 words deep into this…journey (because that is what it’s turning out to be). I’m really happy with what I’ve written so far. The story has taken some turns that I never expected it would, but that’s one of the best parts about writing fiction. The book, at some point, started to write itself. I’m just the messenger for this story that wants to be told.

I’ve also become very protective of the story. I’ve heard people say that writing a book is like having a baby. As I’ve recently, for real, had a baby, I found that a little hard to believe; but I can certainly feel emotions that resemble ones I had while I was preggos. I’m constantly wondering what is going to happen to these characters, that I’m coming to love, how they’re going to turn out in the end. I’m so proud of what I’ve created, much like a mother, but I’m not sure I want to share my baby with the rest of the world. At least not yet.

I would like to finish my first draft, possibly even the second edit, and then have someone proof read it; make it a complete thought before someone else tears into it.

I always edit and proof read as I go. I’ll read back a few pages and change things if they jump out at me, that way, when I sit down to really proof read it won’t take me quite so long.

What do y’all think? Should I have my mom take a look at what I’ve got so far? What is your editing process like?

About Bex Hagan

Born and raised in Charleston, SC. After college, at Ole Miss, Becky spent time living in places like Washington, D.C. and Amsterdam. She loves photography, cooking, and travel. Becky is mom to her one year old son, "Little Bear", and married to her favorite travel buddy. They also have a big scary pit bull, Rooney, who is afraid of trash bags and toy trains. She is an aspiring author, amateur photographer, and stay home mom.

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: 42 Words | Filling Blank Pages - May 25, 2013

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

Tweets

Goodreads

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 766 other followers

